Monday, October 6, 2014

Family outing!...

Going out is much harder nowadays. I know I've probably said this many times already but Haley is at the age now where when we go out all I need to grab is a sippy cup and we are out the door, with Derek it sure brings back memories, diapers, bottles, formula, extra outfits, cream, blankets etc. Now the cold is setting in it's a little more work, making sure they are both warm when we go anywhere.

Today we went out all together! Sean, me, Haley and Derek! We decided to take a walk at the fen by our house. It has a little park but we figured we always take her to the park, I wanted her to be able to blow off some steam, run, explore and generally do what she wants to do. 
It took what seemed like forever to get out of the house, blankets, outfits, coats, hats etc, but we finally managed it at about 4pm, I gave Haley dinner and a drink and we were good. 
Didn't take long to drive there, got Haley all cosy and put on her little bunny backpack. There are bushes so I was worried that if we didn't put her on the harness she might bolt and disappear into the forest! She absolutely loved it! She was picking up sticks, playing in the grass and exploring, it was exhausting but I had a blast! 


One of many sticks she picked up
She looked so cute and so happy, amazing what seeing your little one smile can do! It was a little windy and I only had my jacket so I was shivering by the time we got back to the car but it was worth it to make her so happy. 
Two sticks!
The more sticks she was holding, the happier she was, eventually she just couldn't fit any more in her hands. It took A LOT of walking to tire her out, I was pretty much done half way around but I pushed on, man it takes a ton to tucker this little hurricane out!
And....done.
She fell asleep in the car pretty quickly but our house isn't far away so she didn't get too much rest which worked out well since it seemed like the perfect amount to still have her in bed at her usual time. 
Derek slept the entire time! From the moment we left the house until we pulled back into the driveway, he slept, such a cute little man! The wind didn't seem to bother him although I am glad I invested in one of those car seat canopy's.

So glad I made that hat!

Very comfy and warm with two blankets and his owl hat I crocheted! 

Speaking of crochet, I am working on a couple of projects at the moment but a new hat for Haley is top of the list right now, it doesn't take long but I'm working with more complicated stitches and patterns I've never tried before so it's a bit more of a challenge, I'm having a blast though and can't wait to share the finished products! 

Well that's it for now, here comes Monday!




Friday, October 3, 2014

The great harness debate & other things...

For those of you that know Haley, I don't need to tell you she's a wild one. For those that don't, there is a reason we call her Hurricane Haley! She never sits still, not for a second. Now I know there are many people that say that about their children but seriously.....no really. She is on the go all of the time, never takes a breath, all I can do is try to keep up. 
Now that our little boy has finally joined us in the world, it's a little more difficult to get out and about like I used to, Hales got to the age where I could just grab her sippy cup and head out of the door, now we are back to diapers, wipes, cream, enough formula for a two week vacation etc etc. 
Our first real trip (not including the doctors office) was to Target this week, we walked around it for hours, just browsing, she spent most of her time in the cart but towards the end I let her down to walk along side me....big mistake. 
Her feet were spinning Scooby Doo style before they even hit the ground, when they did, she took off running, I hit slow motion for a second, looking at my innocent, sleeping little boy in his car seat and then my toddler, taking off at a thousand miles a minute down the isle, if I didn't take action she would be out of sight and my heart would explode right through my chest. 
" Hold on tight little man" and I took off at full speed, caught up to her and put her right back in the cart, taking a moment or two to regain my calm. 
I know what most of you will say "just tell her no, teach her not to run off" well easier said than done with this little girl, when she smells freedom, she grabs it by the balls and doesn't leg go for anything so no, I can't just teach her that right now, the communication just isn't there yet. So what to do? 

Well first I need to make a confession, before children were even slightly in my mind I would be in a store (In England obviously) like ASDA or ALDI with my mum and we'd see a mother and child wandering around with the child attached to a harness. I looked at my mother and said "wow, she has that kid on a lead like a dog, why?" my mum simply smiled and replied " you'll understand one day" 
She was right and I want to start by apologizing to that stranger and any other parent out there that has their precious little human on a harness, I get it now and I'm sorry because.....I bought one.

It's not the lead type ones that I don't like, it's a backpack that has a leash attached to it, Haley got a bunny but they come in all different styles and characters, I chose this specific one because it had a double buckle around the waist which evenly distributes the pull when that little one tries to bolt instead of acting like a choker on a pit bull. I let her play with it and put things in the zip up pocket and she loves it, but I don't. I hate it. I hate that I can't just get her to walk by my side, if I'm holding her hand she does but I'm always terrified that her hand will slip and she is just going to run right out into the road. I hate the looks I get from other parents and random people I meet along my way, the comments they mutter under their breath just loud enough for me to hear it. I could make a scene, argue my case and explain but why should I? They don't know Haley, They don't know me so why do I feel the need to justify this to anyone? 


Her little bunny...

Okay I'll end that right here, I could go on forever but really I'm just ranting at this point, let's move on.


Packing is still coming along nicely, I get about two boxes a day packed, no rush, still have a couple weeks to go but it can't come soon enough! I really want to go see the house again but I know there is no point, it looks the same! Be patient, I'll try.

Haley had her first ever hair cut! I have to admit, I was so nervous I actually felt a little sick on the way to the salon. I called ahead to book her in and asked to be put with someone who can handle a toddler that never sits still and may make a scene. They delivered, the lady was amazing, giving Haley a spray bottle and wasn't even slightly phased when of course she pointed it right at her and soaked her immediately. I apologized and let it go.
She sat still for most of it, stunned into a still silence maybe? She lost patience when the lady came to cut her fringe, We got through it though and I think she looks adorable! We'll be going back in 6 weeks for another trim and complimentary fringe cut.

She looks so well behaved here......HA!

Even when her hair is down now it's not in her face, it was driving me insane but it really didn't seem to bother her, it was an adventure. A successful one!


See?! Adorable!

Okay this is getting too long now so I'll leave it here, thanks for reading, until next time!