Now that our little boy has finally joined us in the world, it's a little more difficult to get out and about like I used to, Hales got to the age where I could just grab her sippy cup and head out of the door, now we are back to diapers, wipes, cream, enough formula for a two week vacation etc etc.
Our first real trip (not including the doctors office) was to Target this week, we walked around it for hours, just browsing, she spent most of her time in the cart but towards the end I let her down to walk along side me....big mistake.
Her feet were spinning Scooby Doo style before they even hit the ground, when they did, she took off running, I hit slow motion for a second, looking at my innocent, sleeping little boy in his car seat and then my toddler, taking off at a thousand miles a minute down the isle, if I didn't take action she would be out of sight and my heart would explode right through my chest.
" Hold on tight little man" and I took off at full speed, caught up to her and put her right back in the cart, taking a moment or two to regain my calm.
I know what most of you will say "just tell her no, teach her not to run off" well easier said than done with this little girl, when she smells freedom, she grabs it by the balls and doesn't leg go for anything so no, I can't just teach her that right now, the communication just isn't there yet. So what to do?
Well first I need to make a confession, before children were even slightly in my mind I would be in a store (In England obviously) like ASDA or ALDI with my mum and we'd see a mother and child wandering around with the child attached to a harness. I looked at my mother and said "wow, she has that kid on a lead like a dog, why?" my mum simply smiled and replied " you'll understand one day"
She was right and I want to start by apologizing to that stranger and any other parent out there that has their precious little human on a harness, I get it now and I'm sorry because.....I bought one.
It's not the lead type ones that I don't like, it's a backpack that has a leash attached to it, Haley got a bunny but they come in all different styles and characters, I chose this specific one because it had a double buckle around the waist which evenly distributes the pull when that little one tries to bolt instead of acting like a choker on a pit bull. I let her play with it and put things in the zip up pocket and she loves it, but I don't. I hate it. I hate that I can't just get her to walk by my side, if I'm holding her hand she does but I'm always terrified that her hand will slip and she is just going to run right out into the road. I hate the looks I get from other parents and random people I meet along my way, the comments they mutter under their breath just loud enough for me to hear it. I could make a scene, argue my case and explain but why should I? They don't know Haley, They don't know me so why do I feel the need to justify this to anyone?
![]() |
| Her little bunny... |
Okay I'll end that right here, I could go on forever but really I'm just ranting at this point, let's move on.
Packing is still coming along nicely, I get about two boxes a day packed, no rush, still have a couple weeks to go but it can't come soon enough! I really want to go see the house again but I know there is no point, it looks the same! Be patient, I'll try.
Haley had her first ever hair cut! I have to admit, I was so nervous I actually felt a little sick on the way to the salon. I called ahead to book her in and asked to be put with someone who can handle a toddler that never sits still and may make a scene. They delivered, the lady was amazing, giving Haley a spray bottle and wasn't even slightly phased when of course she pointed it right at her and soaked her immediately. I apologized and let it go.
She sat still for most of it, stunned into a still silence maybe? She lost patience when the lady came to cut her fringe, We got through it though and I think she looks adorable! We'll be going back in 6 weeks for another trim and complimentary fringe cut.
![]() |
| She looks so well behaved here......HA! |
Even when her hair is down now it's not in her face, it was driving me insane but it really didn't seem to bother her, it was an adventure. A successful one!
![]() |
| See?! Adorable! |
Okay this is getting too long now so I'll leave it here, thanks for reading, until next time!



When I was walking with Silas around the neighborhood the other day I thought one might come in handy. I don't know if I'll ever take the plunge, but I think it could be helpful!
ReplyDelete